Reed May of Brownstown Central High School has been named the Colts/NFL Coach of the Week, a program presented by Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield.

Reed MAY

May was selected after recording his 200th victory as the head football coach at Brownstown Central. The Brownstown Central Braves delivered an excellent performance beating the visiting Salem Lions 55-7 to secure their coach’s 200th victory and improve to 4-0 on the season.

Coach May enters his twenty-first season as the leader of the Brownstown Central football program. With an overall record of 200-41 during that time, May has built a tradition of hard work and dedication. Coach May attributes his success at Brownstown Central to the commitment and loyal support of the school, local community and his coaching staff.

The 2013 season marks the fourteenth year the Indianapolis Colts will be recognizing outstanding Indiana High School football coaches through the Colts/NFL Coach of the Week program, presented by Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield.

All high school head coaches in the state of Indiana are eligible regardless of their school size, league or division.  Coaches are evaluated on various factors including the coach’s impact on his team, school and community, as well as performance of the team.  The honorees are selected by a panel of high school football media, former athletic directors and other football representatives from all regions of the state. Each Monday, following a high school football weekend, one head coach will be announced.

At the conclusion of the high school football season, each winning coach will receive a framed certificate signed by NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell, Colts Head Coach Chuck Pagano, Colts General Manager Ryan Grigson and Colts Youth Football Commissioner Mike Prior, as well as a $1,000 donation from the NFL Youth Football Fund.  In addition, Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield will contribute $1,000 for the school’s athletic fund.

The following coaches were recognized as honorable mentions for Week 4:

Region 1-  Brett St. Germain – Lake Central Region 6-  Kent Wright –   Lebanon
Region 2- Cory Yeoman – Penn Region 7-  Bruce Scifres –   Roncalli
Region 3 –  Jim Rowland –   New Haven Region 8- Kevin Wright – Carmel
Region   4 – Chris Meeks – Rensselaer Central Region 9-  Andre Thomas –   Evansville Bosse
Region 5 –  Dave Snyder –   Southwood Region 10-  Winner