BLOOMINGTON, Indiana – The Big Ten Conference has announced that Indiana University men’s basketball coach Tom Crean was named 2016 Big Ten Coach of the Year separately by the league’s coaches and media after he led the Hoosiers to their second outright Big Ten title in four years.  He is the first Hoosier coach to be honored by the league since Bob Knight claimed the honor in 1989.

The Hoosiers are 25-6 and are ranked No. 10 in the USA Today Coaches Poll and by the Associated Press.  IU won 15 (15-3) league games for the first time since 1992-93 when they won the conference with a 17-1 record.  The Hoosiers also have six wins against the RPI Top 50 and have posted the top winning percentage against top 25 competition among Big Ten schools this year, winning four of six games against nationally ranked teams.

The league title also was the 22nd overall for IU, tying Purdue for the most Big Ten Championships in league history.  It also was the 13th outright crown for the Cream and Crimson.

IU ranks third in the country in field goal percentage (50.2), fifth in 3-point field goal percentage (41.9), seventh in scoring margin (+13.9), ninth in 3-point field goals made per game (10.1) and 11th in scoring offense (82.7).

Completing his eighth year with the Hoosiers, IU will likely make its fourth trip to the NCAA Tournament in five seasons.  The Hoosiers advanced to the Sweet Sixteen in 2012 and 2013 and have been nationally ranked each of the last five years.

The outright Big Ten titles are the school’s first multiple outright championships in a four-year span since the 1980, ’81 and ’83 campaigns.  With his two outright titles, Crean only trails Tom Izzo and Thad Matta, who each have won three non-shared league championships, among current conference coaches.

In the last five seasons, IU is 118-51 (69.8).

Ferrell, Williams and Bryant Earn All-Big Ten Honors
Senior All-American guard Kevin “Yogi” Ferrell was named a unanimous first-team All-Big Ten selection.  He was fourth in the league in scoring (17.1) and assists (5.5), sixth in free throw percentage (82.1) and 10th in 3-point field goal percentage (42.1).  He is the Big Ten’s active senior class career leader in scoring (1,909), assists (607) and 3-point field goals made (262).  Ferrell also was selected to the league’s All-Defensive team.  This is the fourth straight year he has been recognized by the league, having been an honorable mention selection as a freshman, a second-team all-league performer as a sophomore and a first-team All-Big Ten pick as a junior.

Junior Troy Williams was named third-team All-Big Ten by the coaches and the media.  He averaged 13.0 points and 6.0 rebounds and shot 52.7 from the field.  He also posted career-high’s with 26 blocked shots, 35 steals and 20 3-point field goals made.  He was an honorable mention All-Big Ten choice a year ago.

Freshman Thomas Bryant was named third-team All-Big Ten by the league’s coaches and earned honorable mention status from the media.  He averaged 11.5 points and 5.8 rebounds and led the Big Ten by shooting 69.8% from the field.  He also led the team with 28 blocked shots.  He was one of two unanimous selections to the Big Ten All-Freshman team selected by the league’s coaches.

Bielfeldt Named Sixth Man of the Year
Graduate transfer Max Bielfeldt was selected by the league’s coaches as the Big Ten Sixth Man of the Year.  He came to IU this past summer after attending Michigan for four years and this season he has posted career-high’s in scoring (8.0), rebounds (4.5), field goal percentage (51.6) and 3-point field goal percentage (43.6).  He is the second Hoosier ever to win the award, joining Will Sheehey, who was recognized in 2013 for his play off the bench.

Burton Wins Sportsmanship Award
Senior Ryan Burton is Indiana’s recipient of the league’s Sportsmanship Award.  Sportsmanship Award winners have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior and must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting.  Burton played two seasons with the Hoosiers and was a member of the National Association of Basketball Coaches Honor Court this past year.