downloadThe Kentucky Derby Festival’s two-day basketball event kicks off tonight at 7 p.m. with the Horseshoe Foundation Night of the Future Stars at New Albany High School in Indiana.

Admission is free with a ticket to Friday night’s Basketball Classic at Freedom Hall. Thursday’s event is comparable to the NBA All-Star weekend, with players showcasing their special skills.
Some of the nights most exciting moments have occurred during the Slam Dunk, 2-on-2 and 3-Point Shooting competitions. There will also be a one-hour autograph-signing session following the event, with a two-item limit for signing.

The New Albany High School Bulldogs State Championship Team is expected to attend the Night of the Future Stars. The team and their Head Coach, JimShannon, will be honored during the event.

Horseshoe Foundation of Floyd County is title sponsor of Thursday’s event, joining Contributing Sponsor Papa John’s.  Media Sponsors are B96.5 FM, Old School 105.1 and SLAM Magazine.

The 44th annual Basketball Classic presented by Papa John’s tips off at 7 p.m. on Friday night at Freedom Hall and features several new recruits for the Cats, Cards and Hoosiers. Those players include recent University of Kentucky commitment Brad Calipari, University of Louisville walk-on Tyler Sharpe, Kentucky’s Mr. Basketball, Carson Williams, as well as Indiana signees Curtis Jones and De’Ron Davis.

TICKETS STILL AVAILABLE:  Basketball Classic Reserved Tickets $18 in advance and $20 at the door. Tickets on sale at all TicketMaster locations, or call (800) 745-3000 or the Freedom Hall box office at (502) 367-5144(Includes facility fee).

First held in 1973, the Derby Festival Basketball Classic is the oldest high school all-star game in the nation. The game has featured such players as Jamal Mashburn, Rex Chapman, Moses Malone, Isiah Thomas, Dominique Wilkins, Eric Bledsoe, Deron Williams and Nolan Smith, among many others.

The Basketball Classic is presented by Papa John’s, with Contributing Sponsor Horseshoe Foundation of Floyd County.  Media Sponsors are 99.7 DJX, B96.5 FM, Old School 105.1 and SLAM Magazine.



AS OF 4/12/2016



Player Pos Ht College
  Brad Calipari G 6-0 Kentucky
  De’Riante Jenkins F 6-5 VCU
  Derek Funderburk C 6-9 Ohio St.
  Eli Wright G 6-4 Mississippi St.
  Joey Brunk C 6-10 Butler
  Mario Kegler F 6-7 Mississippi St.
  Mustapha Heron G 6-5 Auburn
  Quentin Goodin G 6-3 Xavier
  Temple Gibbs G 6-3 Notre Dame
  Jarron Cumberland G 6-4 Cincinnati


Coach Kevin Klein – St. X (KY)

Coach Richard Gatewood – Taylor Co (KY)



Player Pos Ht College
  Curtis Jones G 6-4 Indiana
  De’Ron Davis F 6-10 Indiana
  Eron Gordon G 6-2 Undecided
  Tyler Sharpe G 6-1 Louisville
  Jared Harper G 5-11 Auburn
  CJ Walker G 6-0 Florida St.
  Matthew Moyer F 6-7 Syracuse
  Micah Thomas F 6-7 Maryland
  James Banks C 6-10 Texas
  Carson Williams F 6-5 Northern KY


Coach Jim Shannon – New Albany (KY)

Coach James Schooler – Fern Creek (KY)