Two Troopers from the Jasper District were honored today at an awards ceremony at the Indiana Government Center.
Senior Trooper Jarrod Lents and Trooper Jeremy Galloway were presented awards for their service to the State of Indiana.

Senior Trooper Jarrod Lents was awarded as the 2016 Jasper District Trooper of the Year.  This award was presented to Senior Trooper Lents for achieving outstanding enforcement efforts in the areas of traffic and criminal enforcement, case and crash investigations, public information programs and community service; and for exemplifying the professionalism and integrity expected of an Indiana State Trooper. 
For 2016, Senior Trooper Lents arrested individuals on 264 criminal charges, issued 1914 traffic contacts, and made 8 operating while intoxicated arrests as a day-shift trooper.  Lents was the Jasper District Trooper of the Year in 2009, and was awarded the Department Purple Heart and Combat Action Award in 2014.  Lents is a 12 year veteran of the State Police and primarily patrols Martin and Daviess Counties.
The Top Drunk Driving Award was presented to Trooper Galloway for his efforts in removing impaired and intoxicated motorists from Indiana’s roadways.  Trooper Galloway was awarded for his efforts of arresting more impaired drivers in 2016 than any other Jasper District trooper.  Trooper Galloway received the Top Drunk Driving Award in 2014 and 2015 as well.  Galloway is a five year veteran of the State Police and primarily patrols Perry County.
The actions and dedication to duty of Senior Trooper Lents and of Troopers Galloway are in keeping with the finest traditions of law enforcement and reflect great credit upon themselves and the Indiana State Police Department.