With the filing period closed this afternoon, the May 7 City of Salem Primary election is heating up with a four-way race among Republicans and a two-way Democratic hunt for the Mayor’s nomination. 

Current Mayor Troy Merry isn’t seeking re-election, opening up the field. 

Merry (then City of Salem Police Chief) won the general election in Nov. 2015 defeating City Councilman and State Farm Agent Ron Haendiges, 661 to 644.

Haendiges, who is also a Salem Community School Board member in his second year of his first term, will seek the office again on the Republican ticket. 

He faces fellow Republicans Justin Green, Robert “Bobby” Fletcher and Christie Luckett. 

On the Democrat ticket, William “Bill” Ackerman and Richard “Bobby” Longworth will face each other for the nomination to carry on to the November general election. 

Other candidates in the May Primary will be:

Clerk-Treasurer – Sally Hattabaugh (R) – Incumbent. No Democrat filed to challenge her. 

City Council, At-Large – Janine Lee and Jody Smedley, will face each other for the Republican nomination. Democrats RH Bennett and Mark W. Hobson, incumbent, will vie to the party nomination.

City Council – District 1 – Danny Libka (R) – Incumbent. There was no Democrat filed to challenge him. 

City Council – District 2 – Warren “Truck” Jones (D) – Incumbent – will face off against newcomber Rick Stewart for the party nod. 

City Council – District 3 – Steve Crane (R) – Incumbent will face Democrat Jana Hayes in the fall election. 

City Council – District 4 – Gail Napier (R)  will face Democrat Incumbent Wally Terkhorn in the fall election.