On behalf of all Public Safety organizations and First Responders, the Indiana State Policeexpress our combined thanks and appreciation to Governor Holcomb for declaring in Indiana the week of April 14 – 20, 2019 as “Public Safety Telecommunicator Week”

In 1991 Congress proclaimed the second full week in April to be National Public Safety Telecommunications Week to recognize the importance of those special individuals who coordinate the efforts of police, fire, and EMS workers. Governor Eric J. Holcomb has proclaimed the week of April 14-20, 2019 as Public Safety Telecommunications Week in Indiana. Indiana has recognized this week since 1999.

Telecommunications operators are the unsung heroes of public safety. They operate 24 hours a day, seven days a week. These are the men and women who collect the initial information and pass it along to the first responders in the field. Often they are able to give immediate lifesaving directions to the caller during medical emergencies or can be the calming voice to reassure the victim of a violent crime that help is on the way.

All Indiana State Police Telecommunications Operators must pass a written test, a typing test, appear before an interview board, and go through a background investigation before being hired. Once employed they must endure several weeks of training and continuous in-service training throughout their careers to maintain certifications on the latest communications technology and procedures.

Telecommunications Operators working from Regional Dispatch Center III at the Bloomington State Police Post, are responsible for dispatching troopers working in 19 counties across central Indiana that include the Bloomington, Jasper and Evansville Posts.

A huge thanks to all the dispatchers and supervisory staff at the Bloomington Regional Dispatch Center for all you do!

Region III Telecommunications Operators;

Regional Manager – Kathryn Haley

Regional Shift Supervisor – Leesa Slover

Regional Shift Supervisor – Paula Summitt

Regional Shift Supervisor – Bryce Viehweg

Regional Dispatcher – Paul “Doug” Brassine

Regional Dispatcher – Lloyd “Scott” Wilkerson

Regional Dispatcher – Tonya Beck

Regional Dispatcher – Tracy Young

Regional Dispatcher – Hunter Sanders

Regional Dispatcher – Mitchell McKinney

Regional Dispatcher – Taylor Howell

Regional Dispatcher – Tyler Williams

Regional Dispatcher – Bailey Fears

Regional Dispatcher – Andrew Thompson

Regional Dispatcher – Shelby Brown