Three-term Salem City Councilman Justin Green outlasted former Mayoral Candidate and Salem School Board member Ron Haendiges by 48 votes to win the Republican nod to run for City of Salem Mayor in this fall’s election. 

Justin Green won the Republican nomination to run for Mayor in the fall election. Here he is with his parents. Photo by Becky White

Green captured 338 total votes (including early voting and absentee) or 46.2 percent while Haendiges pulled in just 290 votes or 39.6 percent. 

Robert “Bobby” Fletcher earned six total votes or .82 percent.

Newcomer Christie Luckett captured 95 total votes. or 13.2 percent.

Haendiges took an early lead of 100 to 98 after the 3rd precinct was tabulated. Fletcher took one vote and Luckett took 32 votes in the precinct. 

Green took 71 votes in Precinct 1, putting him up 24 votes over Haendiges, who earned 45 votes in this precinct. Fletcher took 1 vote and Luckett took 11 votes. 

Haendiges captured 10 votes less than Green in District 2 (72-62) putting Green ahead by 34 votes. 

Salem 4 – the final precinct to be tabulated – pulled in 97 votes for Green; 83 for Haendiges, 29 for Luckett and one vote for Fletcher. 

Haendiges was defeated in 2014 by current Mayor Troy Merry who did not seek another term. 

According to Washington County Clerk Sarah Milligan, 922 total votes were cast. The results are unofficial until they are certified in a few weeks. 


William “Bill” Ackerman won the Democrat party nomination to run for Salem Mayor this fall after defeating his challenger 121 to 49.

Richard “Bobby” Longworth received 28.82 percent of the votes while Ackerman took 71.18 percent of the votes. 

He will face Green in the fall election. 


In one of the other races, Republican Jody Smedley won the party nomination for City Council, at large, defeating Janine Lee 124 to 74. 

Smedley will face an unknown opponent in the fall. 


In the other contested race, Rick Stewart defeated longtime council member and incumbent Warren “Truck” Jones, 22-14. 


The following candidates ran unopposed and could face a challenger in the November election:

  • City Council District 3 – Jana Hayes (D) – Received 51 votes
  • City Council District 3 – Wally Terkhorn (D) (Deceased) – Received 32 votes (10 absentee and 22 cast today)
  • City Council At Large – (D) – RH Bennett – Received 148 votes
  • City Clerk Treasurer – (R) – Sally Hattabaugh – Received 625 votes
  • City Council District 1 – (R) – Danny Libka – Received 112 votes
  • City Council District 3 – (R) – Steve Crane – Received 199 votes.
  • City Council District 4 – (R) – Gail Napier – Received 176 votes