Hoosier Uplands awards 11 scholarships to area graduates

Hoosier Uplands awards 11 scholarships to area graduates


This years marks the 24th year that Hoosier Uplands has given scholarships to local graduating high school seniors from Crawford, Lawrence, Martin, Orange and Washington counties.download (1)

“One $1,300 scholarship is awarded to a graduating senior from each of the 11 high schools in the five counties we serve,” says Ginger Knight, Director of Administrative Services/Coordinator of Hoosier Uplands Scholarship Program.

This year 11 scholarships were awarded bringing the total scholarships since 1993 to 198 with a total of $261,150 awarded.

Winning Hoosier Uplands scholarships for 2016 are:

Crawford County

  • Crawford County HighSchool – Emily Cox

Lawrence County

  • Bedford North Lawrence – Aedan Anderson
  • Mitchell High School – Madison McNeely

Martin County

  • Loogootee High School – Alexis Willis
  • Shoals High School – Britney Cooper

Orange County

  • Orleans High School – Olivia Jenkins
  • Paoli High School – Mason Deaton
  • Springs Valley High School – Tyler White

Washington County

  • Eastern High School – Jacob Lewis
  • Salem High School – Taylor Alexander
  • West Washington High School – Kirsten Davenport