Six New Troopers Arrive at Sellersburg Post

Six New Troopers Arrive at Sellersburg Post


Six new troopers reported for duty on October 31st at the Indiana State Police Post at Sellersburg. 

They were six of 55 new troopers reporting to their districts of assignment following graduation from the 76th Indiana State Police Recruit Academy which took place on Thursday, October 20th. 

These six men completed 22 weeks of intense training at the Indiana Law Enforcement Academy in Plainfield. 

During the training period, the recruits received in excess of 950 hours of law enforcement training which included criminal law, emergency vehicle operations, traffic law as well as training in other facets of law enforcement including criminal investigation, crash investigation, self-defense, first responder, and other general law enforcement related areas of instruction.

The newest members of the Indiana State Police Post at Sellersburg are:

  • Probationary Trooper Morgenn B. Evans, 23, is a native of Elizabeth, IN and lives now in Charlestown.
  • Probationary Trooper Tyler G. Matthew, 25, from Orleans, IN now residing in New Albany.  
  • Probationary Trooper Nathaniel W. Newton, 23, from Maukport, IN.
  • Probationary Trooper Steven R. Peyton, 23, from Charlestown, IN.
  • Probationary Trooper Kyle R. Taylor, 22, from Salem, IN.
  • Probationary Trooper Keenan A. Ward, 21, from Lanesville, IN.

The new troopers will put their recruit academy training to work in the field as they begin 12 weeks of field training where they will be paired with experienced troopers specially trained to serve as Field Training Officers. 

Upon successful completion of the field training program, they will be issued their own police cars and begin solo patrol responsibilities in a county located in the Sellersburg District of the Indiana State Police.

Pictured L-R:  #1 Indiana State Police Superintendent Doug Carter, #2 Probationary Trooper Peyton, #3 Probationary Trooper Evans, #4 Probationary Trooper Newton, #5 Probationary Trooper Matthew, #6 Probationary Trooper Ward, #7 Probationary Trooper Taylor, #8 Indiana State Police Colonel Mark French.