73 Indiana farms receive historic homestead award

73 Indiana farms receive historic homestead award


Today, at the Indiana State Fair, Lt. Gov Suzanne Crouch and Indiana State Department of Agriculture Director Bruce Kettler presented 73 family farms with a Hoosier Homestead Award, recognizing their family’s longstanding commitment to Indiana agriculture.

To be named a Hoosier Homestead, farms must be owned by the same family for more than 100 consecutive years, and consist of 20 acres or more, or produce more than $1,000 in agricultural products per year.

“Agriculture has always been and continues to be a vital and thriving industry in our state,” Crouch said. “I always look forward to honoring these Hoosier Homestead Award recipients on their family’s commitment to their farm, community and heritage.”

Families are eligible for three different distinctions of the Hoosier Homestead Award, based on the age of the farm. They can receive the Centennial Award for 100 years, Sesquicentennial Award for 150 years or Bicentennial Award for 200 years of ownership.

Since the program’s inception in 1976, nearly 6000 families have received the award. Often, a Hoosier Homestead farm is easily recognized because most recipients proudly display their awarded sign on their property.

“Each of these Hoosier Homestead farms have such a unique and important story behind them,” Kettler said. “Managing and operating a farm is no simple task, and I commend each of the families that receive this award for their dedication and devotion to agriculture.”

The following list includes the August 2021 Hoosier Homestead Award recipients.

County Name Homestead Date Award
Adams Kiefer 1882 Centennial
Allen Scherrer 1900 Centennial
Bartholomew Anthers 1871 Sesquicentennial
Bartholomew O’Neal — Dickey  1919 Centennial
Benton English 1871 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Benton Hasser 1916 Centennial
Brown Parsley 1920 Centennial
Carroll Been 1910 Centennial
Carroll Duff 1921 Centennial
Carroll Penn 1867 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Clark Johnson 1921 Centennial
Clay Edward & Anna Spaeth 1921 Centennial
Clay Harvey Fell 1918 Centennial
Daviess Bean 1907 Centennial
Decatur Carroll 1871 Sesquicentennial
DeKalb George E. Baker  1918 Centennial
DeKalb Rosenbury 1906 Centennial
DeKalb Tustison/Hook 1845 Sesquicentennial
Dubois Hoppenjans 1921 Centennial
Dubois Lawrence Gutgsell  1910 Centennial
Fayette Winfield Schockey/David Dean 1921 Centennial
Franklin Brier 1906 Centennial
Franklin Knecht 1846 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Franklin McNally 1918 Centennial
Franklin Schuck/Knecht 1879 Centennial
Franklin Schuck/Knecht 1902 Centennial
Gibson Hardiman/Lyles/Nolcox/Solomon 1915 Centennial
Hamilton Ringer  1894 Centennial
Harrison Leffler 1874 Centennial
Harrison Reinhardt 1871 Sesquicentennial
Hendricks Dillon 1917 Centennial
Howard Jean Gesse — Kingseed Farm 1848 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Howard Davis 1920 Centennial
Howard Breisch 1848 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Howard Kingseed 1903 Centennial
Howard Kingseed 1919 Centennial
Huntington Brubaker 1899 Centennial
Jackson Anthony – Browning – Robbins 1919 Centennial
Jackson Garriott – Robbins 1914 Centennial
Jackson George Parke Vehslage 1862 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Jackson Pfaffenberger 1853 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Jasper Smith 1871 Sesquicentennial
Jay Bell 1885 Centennial
Jennings Anthers/Blair 1821 Bicentennial
Jennings Biehle 1906 Centennial
Jennings Biehle 1906 Centennial
LaPorte Shebel 1920 Centennial
LaPorte Steve and Joann Jensen 1871 Sesquicentennial
Lawrence Fountain 1920 Centennial
Martin Sherfick 1920 Centennial
Miami Clendenning/Fouts/See 1841 Sesquicentennial
Miami Crockett 1865 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Morgan Charles J. Kirk 1906 Centennial
Morgan Oliver, August, & Alice Dilley 1902 Centennial
Morgan Rawlins 1917 Centennial
Noble Raymond & Karen Parker 1917 Centennial
Parke Lennie C. Pyle 1920 Centennial
Pulaski Theodore & Lowell Podell 1900 Centennial
Pulaski William Meyer 1899 Centennial
Putnam Jeffries 1885 Centennial
Randolph Fogle 1919 Centennial
Randolph Harry & Florence Smith 1920 Centennial
Shelby Clark – Rehme 1866 Sesquicentennial
Shelby Harrod 1899 Centennial
St. Joseph Beehler 1860 Sesquicentennial
Union Brattain 1871 Sesquicentennial
Vanderburgh Henry Schlensker 1870 Sesquicentennial
Vanderburgh Niederhaus/Karch 1839 Sesquicentennial
Vigo Tryon 1844 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
Wabash Chamberlain 1920 Centennial
Wells Steiner 1863 Centennial and Sesquicentennial
White Johnson – Barnhart 1916 Centennial
White Milton & Emma Marshall 1917 Centennial