Indiana State Police SWAT Place Fifth in Connecticut SWAT Challenge

Indiana State Police SWAT Place Fifth in Connecticut SWAT Challenge



Pictured from left to right standing: Mark True (Versailles Post), Rich Silcox (Pendleton Post), Korey Mauck (Evansville Post), Brian Dunkin (Fort Wayne Post), Jarrin Franklin (Bloomington Post), Miles Edwards (Indianapolis Post) Pictured from left to right kneeling: Scott Meyer (Fort Wayne Post), Chris McCreery (Fort Wayne Post)

Eight members of the Indiana State Police SWAT, representing the three Department teams recently competed in the Connecticut (CT) SWAT Challenge 2015, a nationally recognized event in which they placed fifth out of 30 teams.

According to Trooper Brian Dunkin, who is assigned to the Fort Wayne Post, he and his seven teammates competed against 29 other teams from around the nation and included several military teams.  The competition included both individual and team events which tested the competitors mental, physical and tactical skills over a four day period.

Dunkin said, “We competed at a very high level and represented our department extremely well.  Most of the teams there have been competing together in this event for at least 10 years and for the ISP to come in with a mix of guys from each of our three teams and have such a great showing, speaks volumes about the cohesion and capabilities of our SWAT teams”.

Individual and teams results are as follows:

Top Sniper:  Trooper Brian Dunkin (Fort Wayne Post) 1st place

Top Cop:  Trooper Brian Dunkin (Fort Wayne Post) 6th place, Trooper Brian McCreery (Fort Wayne Post) 10th place, Jarrin Franklin (Bloomington Post) 25th place.

Colt Cup:  ISP 1st place

Mile High Team Sniper:  ISP 2nd place

Dynamic Entry: ISP 5th place

Arcteryx Mystery Event: ISP 7th place

Hostage Rescue:  ISP 10th place