Cream and Crimson Spring Football Game, 04/18/15_Mike Dickbernd
Indiana fifth-year senior right guard Dan Feeney is a member of the Outland Trophy Watch List for the second straight season, the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA) announced today. The list includes 22 offensive tackles, 20 offensive guards, 17 defensive tackles and 11 centers.
Cream and Crimson Spring Football Game, 04/18/15_Mike Dickbernd
Cream and Crimson Spring Football Game, 04/18/15_Mike Dickbernd

Feeney, an ESPN, Associated Press, CBS Sports and SI.com All-America selection as a redshirt junior, has allowed just one sack in 37 career starts at right guard (2,719 snaps). In 2015, he did not allow a sack in 475 called pass attempts.

The Orland Park, Ill., native finished with a team-best 102 knockdowns in 1,069 snaps. A first team All-Big Ten honoree, Feeney was also a Lombardi Award Watch Lister.

Indiana finished 2015 first in total offense, passing offense and scoring offense, while placing second in rushing offense in the Big Ten. The Hoosiers became the first team since Ohio State in 1995 to lead the league in total, passing and scoring offense.

IU led the Big Ten in scoring offense for the first time since the league began using the entire season as the statistical champion in 1985. Indiana had not led the league in total offense since 1988.

The Hoosiers became the fourth college football team to have a 3,500-yard passer, a pair of 1,000-yard running backs and a 1,000-yard receiver in the same year. IU was also one of only two Power Five conference teams with two 1,000-yard running backs (Baylor).

Indiana opens the 2016 campaign at Florida International on Thursday, Sept. 1 (7:30 p.m. ET, ESPNU), and kicks off its seven-game home schedule against Ball State on Saturday, Sept. 10 (noon, ESPNEWS). IU also hosts Wake Forest (Sept. 24), Michigan State (Oct. 1, 8 p.m., BTN), Nebraska (Oct. 15, 3:30 p.m.), Maryland (Oct. 29), Penn State (Nov. 12) and Purdue (Nov. 26). Season tickets are available by clicking here, by phone at 1-866-IUSPORTS or in person at the Assembly Hall Ticket Office. The Hoosiers full schedule is available by clicking here.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Thurs., Nov. 17. Five days later, three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 71st Outland Trophy – named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century – will be announced on live on ESPN on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thurs., Dec. 8. For the second straight year, the show will air from the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 11, 2017, in Omaha, Neb. This year, Oklahoma’s Greg Roberts, the 1978 Outland Trophy winner, will be honored and presented an Outland Trophy, which was not given in the era in which he won the award. In addition, former Oklahoma coach Barry Switzer, will receive the Tom Osborne Legacy Award at the same banquet.

The Outland Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 22 awards boast over 722 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit www.ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

ORG Dan Feeney
Outland Trophy Watch List
No. 1 Offensive Guard Nationally – Phil Steele, Lindy’s, USA Today
1st Team All-American – ESPN, Sporting News, Phil Steele, Lindy’s, Athlon
1st Team All-Big Ten – ESPN, Sporting News, Phil Steele, Lindy’s, Athlon

Griffin Oakes
Lou Groza Award Watch List
No. 6 Kicker Nationally – Lindy’s
1st Team All-Big Ten – Sporting News, Phil Steele, Lindy’s, Athlon

WR Simmie Cobbs, Jr.
Maxwell Award Watch List
1st Team All-Big Ten – Phil Steele
2nd Team All-Big Ten – Lindy’s, Athlon

LS Dan Godsil
2nd Team All-Big Ten – Phil Steele

Jonathan Crawford
3rd Team All-Big Ten – Athlon

LB Marcus Oliver
3rd Team All-Big Ten – Phil Steele

PR Mitchell Paige
3rd Team All-Big Ten – Phil Steele

RB Devine Redding
3rd Team All-Big Ten – Phil Steele, Athlon

DC Tom Allen
No. 8 Coordinator Hire Nationally – Athlon