Purdue’s Jake Replogle Named to Outland Trophy Watch List

Purdue’s Jake Replogle Named to Outland Trophy Watch List


The preseason recognition for senior defensive tackle Jake Replogle continues as he was named to the watch list for the Outland Trophy on Friday. The Outland is presented to the nation’s top interior offensive or defensive lineman. Replogle is one of 17 defenders on  the list.


Placed on the watch list for the Chuck Bednarik Award earlier in the week, Replogle enters his final season at Purdue with 113 career tackles, 25.5 tackles for loss, five sacks, three passes defended and a blocked kick.

He posted his best season as junior last year, finishing fourth on the team with 60 tackles, a team-high 14.0 tackles for loss, a pair of sacks and the blocked kick.

Replogle, along with Ja’Whaun Bentley and DeAngelo Yancey, will represent Purdue at the Big Ten’s media day and kickoff luncheon later this month.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Thurs., Nov. 17. Five days later, three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 71st Outland Trophy – named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century – will be announced on live on ESPN on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thurs., Dec. 8. For the second straight year, the show will air from the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 11, 2017, in Omaha, Neb. This year, Oklahoma’s Greg Roberts, the 1978 Outland Trophy winner, will be honored and presented an Outland Trophy, which was not given in the era in which he won the award. In addition, former Oklahoma coach Barry Switzer, will receive the Tom Osborne Legacy Award at the same banquet.