Correction: Indiana Voter Registration Project Investigation Expands from 9 to 56 of...

Correction: Indiana Voter Registration Project Investigation Expands from 9 to 56 of Indiana’s 92 Counties



Correction: The previous version of last night’s press release listed Jefferson County two times.  This has been corrected with this update.  The accurate number of counties potentially affected by this investigation is fifty-six.

The investigation that began in late August of 2016 alleging the filing of fraudulent voter application information has expanded from the nine counties listed in an October 4, 2016 news release, to a total of 57 Indiana counties as of today’s date of October 6, 2016.


While it is the normal practice of the Indiana State Police to refrain from providing detailed updates of an active investigation, this exception is being made due to the deadline for Indiana voters to register or update their voter registration information by 11:59 p.m. on Tuesday, October 11, 2016.

Indiana voters may check the accuracy of their voter information by visiting this site:  Updates to voter registration information can also be made from the same site, up to the date of the deadline.  The Secretary of State Office is also available to assist voters on regular business days, from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. EST, by calling 866-461-8683.

While it is recommended all Indiana voters should confirm the accuracy of their voter registration information, it is especially prudent for voters who live in the listed counties to verify their voter information.  At this point of the on-going investigation it is not possible to determine the number of registered voters that may have been negatively impacted by recent voter registration drive efforts.

The below list includes counties named in previous state police news releases:

  1. Adams
  2. Allen
  3. Bartholomew
  4. Benton
  5. Blackford
  6. Boone
  7. Brown
  8. Carroll
  9. Cass
  10. Clark
  11. Clay
  12. Clinton
  13. Daviess
  14. Dearborn
  15. Decatur
  16. DeKalb
  17. Delaware
  18. Dubois
  19. Elkhart
  20. Fayette
  21. Floyd
  22. Franklin
  23. Fulton
  24. Gibson
  25. Grant
  26. Greene
  27. Hamilton
  28. Hancock
  29. Harrison
  30. Hendricks
  31. Henry
  32. Howard
  33. Huntington
  34. Jackson
  35. Jasper
  36. Jay
  37. Jefferson
  38. Jennings
  39. Johnson
  40. Knox
  41. Kosciusko
  42. LaGrange
  43. Lake
  44. LaPorte
  45. Lawrence
  46. Madison
  47. Marion
  48. Marshall
  49. Martin
  50. Miami
  51. Monroe
  52. Montgomery
  53. Morgan
  54. Newton
  55. Noble
  56. Owen

The Indiana State Police is dedicated to protecting the right for all citizens to be able to cast a valid vote regardless of political party affiliation.